Prisoner in Azkaban


I still remember sitting; with my hands cuffed in that steel chair with all eyes of the Wizengamot on me. A ragged memory…the cold that penetrated my spine….the chill that enveloped my existence…sapping all happiness out of me…still haunts my mindscape. That angry look on those old faces; the twisted wrinkles wrinkling even further when my charges were declared – the crime of attempting to break one of the most ancient; most powerful; most bewitching of magics known to wizardkind….

Has it already been almost 20 years since then?

The tattered memories of my past identity still stab at the remnants of my conscience…the swift and angry desertion of my friends…the agony in the heart of my master…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes…the look of horror on my mother’s face…the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor…the shock of betrayal on her face…the torturing despair of my heart burning…

The swift and angry desertion of my friends at the display of weak parts of my character…the swift and angry desertion of my friends at my shameless betrayal and insult of their friendship…the swift and angry desertion of my friends at my adamancy and ego…the swift and angry desertion of my friends when they saw my own family loathe me…the swift and angry desertion of my friends when I befriended her…the swift and angry desertion of my friends when they realized that I aimed at breaking The sacred charm…

That swift and angry desertion of my friends…

The agony in the heart of my master when I let down his confidence and displayed my incompetence…the agony in the heart of my master when he saw his chosen pupil stray down the path of infamy…the agony in the heart of my master when he realized that his greatest mistake in life was me…the agony in the heart of my master when he failed to groom me to become a good family person…the agony in the heart of my master when I decided to walk beside her for the rest of my life…the agony in the heart of my master when he saw me fail at attempting to break The sacred charm…

That agony in the heart of my master…

The stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes when I declined to buy her the bewitched jewels…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes on my refusal to make it to her special day…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes when I wouldn’t stand by her side…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes when her friends ridiculed her for my behavior…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes when she her as my choice…the stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes when I went to break The sacred charm…

That stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes…

The look of horror on mother’s face when she realized that her son had become an utterly hopeless destitute…the look of horror on my mother’s face when she saw my friends zooming past me with accolades that I deserved…the look of horror on mother’s face when her son staggered despite his Himalayan capabilities…the look of horror on my mother’s face when her friends taunted her at my failures…the look of horror on my mother’s face when I first mentioned her…the look of horror on my mother’s face when she realized that I had attempted at breaking The sacred charm…

That look of horror on my mother’s face…

The trace of shame in my father’s demeanor when I chose not to walk the path of his desire…the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor when he saw his hopelessly miserable son swerving into the path of darkness…the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor when I splintered my family with disgraceful deeds…the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor when his dearest friends made a mockery of me… the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor on me choosing her…the trace of shame in my father’s demeanor when I attempted to break The sacred charm…

That trace of shame in my father’s demeanor…

The shock of betrayal on her face when her choice failed pathetically….the shock of betrayal on her face when she saw the veracity of my claims….the shock of betrayal on her face when I disrespected everything she loved…the shock of betrayal on her face when she saw my true, cunning and manipulative self…the shock of betrayal on her face when I decided to leave behind all the world…the shock of betrayal on her face at the moment when I resolved to break The sacred charm of ‘Love’….

That shock of betrayal on her face…

The torturing despair of my heart burning at the swift and angry desertion of my friends…the torturing despair of my heart burning at the agony in the heart of my master…the torturing despair of my heart burning at that stain of disappointment in my sister’s eyes…the torturing despair of my heart burning at that look of horror on my mother’s face…the torturing despair of my heart burning at that trace of shame in my father’s demeanor…………the torturing despair of my heart burning at the shock of betrayal on her face….

That torturing despair of my heart burning….

I am ready for the Dementor’s kiss. Come; take me. I am not worth space I occupy. [As the dementors were approaching their needy victim; a shrill shout could be heard]

Did I just hear “EXPECTO PATRONUM”??

“Hey sweetheart; come lets escape….” and then she embraced me back into life with The sacred charm.

*** The End ***

Kindly note: This work is done in the rush and thrill of finishing a Harry Potter book. It is merely a fan’s fanciful flight. This is merely for recreational purposes and will be taken down if anyone has any copyright/moral issues.

Leave a Reply

